Earthquake
M 6.8 - The 2026 Kumamoto Region, Japan Earthquake
Latest evidence
Magnitude M6.8 Mww
Also reported by GDACS (magnitude type not stated)
- Depth
- 8.0 km
- Alert level
- Orange
- Started
- Location
- Kumamoto Prefecture, Japan
- Hazard
- Strong earthquake
Kumamoto Prefecture, Japan
About 20 km S of Kumamoto
About 110 km S of Fukuoka
Recorded coordinates
The event origin is WND’s fixed reference point for this event; it is not revised when a provider updates its epicentre. Each provider reports its own current epicentre; a superseded location is kept as history. Distances below are measured from the origin.
Region and reference cities are derived by WND from the reported epicentre using Natural Earth 5.1.2 boundaries; they are not provider statements. Made with Natural Earth.
Event origin: 32.6177° N, 130.6601° E 884b660b2dfffff
- Reported epicentre (USGS) — 32.6177° N, 130.6601° E — at the event origin
- Reported epicentre (GDACS) — 32.6817° N, 130.7217° E — 9 km NE of the event origin
Impact
- Population exposedEstimated
- 684,252 people
What changed
Timeline
The first 5 of 7 dated entries, earliest first. 1 entry without a stated time is in the full chronology.
2 official and scientific sources
View evidence trailOccurrences
The main event and every occurrence recorded so far. Each reading links to its entry in the evidence record.
Main event
- M 6.8 - The 2026 Kumamoto Region, Japan EarthquakeM6.8 Mww8.0 km depth
USGS main shock, reviewed status.
Evidence
Every reading published for this Event, grouped by what it measures, with its source. Superseded readings and readings not shown in the summaries above are included. Where a claim has several readings, WND selects one by a fixed rule; selection is not a judgement of accuracy.
Open the Evidence Trail: the same readings on their own page.
Evidence record
Magnitude
-
M6.8 Mww · Source status: Confirmed
Selected reading
Appears in: Event summary, Timeline
USGS ·
-
M6.8
Alternative reading
Appears in: Timeline
- Magnitude type not stated by GDACS
GDACS ·
Depth
-
8.0 km · Source status: Confirmed
Appears in: Event summary, Timeline
USGS ·
Reported epicentre
-
32.6817° N, 130.7217° E
Selected reading
GDACS ·
-
32.6177° N, 130.6601° E · Source status: Confirmed
Alternative reading
Appears in: Timeline
USGS ·
Population exposed
-
684,252 people
Appears in: Impact, What changed
GDACS ·
Alert level
-
Orange
Appears in: Event summary
GDACS · No time stated by the source
Full chronology
- Main event M 6.8 - The 2026 Kumamoto Region, Japan Earthquake
- Hazard Magnitude recorded: M6.8 Mww
- Hazard Depth recorded: 8.0 km
- Hazard Reported epicentre (USGS) recorded: 32.6177° N, 130.6601° E
- Hazard Reported magnitude (GDACS) recorded: M6.8
- Hazard Reported epicentre (GDACS) recorded: 32.6817° N, 130.7217° E
- Impact Population exposed recorded: 684,252 people
No time stated by the source
- Hazard Alert level recorded: Orange
Sources
- Scientific record
M 6.8 - The 2026 Kumamoto Region, Japan Earthquake
USGS
View source - Scientific record
Earthquake in Japan (episode 1721238)
GDACS
View source
Evidence coverage
- GDACS: alert record found and attached. Checked
- GLIDE registry: not queried — this event already carries a GLIDE number. Checked
- ReliefWeb: checked, nothing matched. Checked