Earthquake
M 4.7 - 5 km NNE of Korumburra, Australia
Latest evidence
Magnitude M4.7 Mb
Also reported by GDACS (magnitude type not stated)
- Depth
- 10 km
- Alert level
- Green
- Started
- Location
- Victoria, Australia
- Hazard
- Light earthquake
Victoria, Australia
About 100 km SE of Melbourne
Recorded coordinates
The event origin is WND’s fixed reference point for this event; it is not revised when a provider updates its epicentre. Each provider reports its own current epicentre; a superseded location is kept as history. Distances below are measured from the origin.
Region and reference cities are derived by WND from the reported epicentre using Natural Earth 5.1.2 boundaries; they are not provider statements. Made with Natural Earth.
Event origin: 38.3802° S, 145.8401° E 88be604c25fffff
- Reported epicentre (USGS) — 38.3802° S, 145.8401° E — at the event origin
- Reported epicentre (GDACS) — 38.3802° S, 145.8401° E — at the event origin
Impact
- Population exposedEstimated
- 15,423 people
What changed
Timeline
The first 5 of 7 dated entries, earliest first. 1 entry without a stated time is in the full chronology.
2 official and scientific sources
View evidence trailOccurrences
The main event and every occurrence recorded so far. Each reading links to its entry in the evidence record.
Main event
- M 4.7 - 5 km NNE of Korumburra, AustraliaM4.7 Mb10 km depth
USGS main shock, reviewed status.
Evidence
Every reading published for this Event, grouped by what it measures, with its source. Superseded readings and readings not shown in the summaries above are included. Where a claim has several readings, WND selects one by a fixed rule; selection is not a judgement of accuracy.
Open the Evidence Trail: the same readings on their own page.
Evidence record
Magnitude
-
M4.7 Mb · Source status: Confirmed
Selected reading
Appears in: Event summary, Timeline
USGS ·
-
M4.7
Alternative reading
Appears in: Timeline
- Magnitude type not stated by GDACS
GDACS ·
Depth
-
10 km · Source status: Confirmed
Appears in: Event summary, Timeline
USGS ·
Reported epicentre
-
38.3802° S, 145.8401° E · Source status: Confirmed
Equally timed reading, selected by a fixed identifier order
Appears in: Timeline
USGS ·
-
38.3802° S, 145.8401° E
Equally timed reading, not selected
GDACS ·
Population exposed
-
15,423 people
Appears in: Impact, What changed
GDACS ·
Alert level
-
Green
Appears in: Event summary
GDACS · No time stated by the source
Full chronology
- Main event M 4.7 - 5 km NNE of Korumburra, Australia
- Hazard Magnitude recorded: M4.7 Mb
- Hazard Reported magnitude (GDACS) recorded: M4.7
- Hazard Depth recorded: 10 km
- Hazard Reported epicentre (USGS) recorded: 38.3802° S, 145.8401° E
- Hazard Reported epicentre (GDACS) recorded: 38.3802° S, 145.8401° E
- Impact Population exposed recorded: 15,423 people
No time stated by the source
- Hazard Alert level recorded: Green
Sources
- Scientific record
M 4.7 - 5 km NNE of Korumburra, Australia
USGS
View source - Scientific record
Earthquake in Australia (episode 1737297)
GDACS
View source
Evidence coverage
- GDACS: alert record found and attached. Checked
- GLIDE registry: checked, nothing matched. Checked
- ReliefWeb: not queried — reports attach only by GLIDE, and none is assigned. Checked